Not your average Chicken Soup

102
Brrrr….. It’s so cold! Wait a minute, what am I talking about? It’s 98 degrees outside. Oh I remember now… Not your average chicken soup! I made this soup on a cold day, cold as winter and cold as runny nose. Wonder what does make this soup different than any other? APPLE! Yes, gala apple. I normally get my recipes and ideas from the great world wide web but not this one. I remember having this great apple soup long long time ago at one of Chinese restaurant in Jakarta, Indonesia. As I did my research, most of the recipes are made with pork broth. But I still wanted to make a chicken soup since I always believe in the power of good chicken broth to cure my runny nose. So I decided to add apples. I used 2 gala apples, cored, skin on and diced into 1.5 inches cube (roughly). My oh my, it was the best chicken soup I’ve had (besides my mom’s but well that’s a totally different story.) The apples give it a savory sweetness that’s so perfect paired with the richness of homemade chicken broth and other vegetables. I don’t measure when I cook (only when I bake) so I will do my best to give you the recipe for this soup.

Not your average chicken soup
serves 2-3

4 chicken thighs, skinned and bone-in*
1 cup sliced carrot
1 cup diced potato
1 cup diced gala apple, skin-on
4 cup chicken broth
Salt & Pepper
1 teaspoon fish sauce
MSG**

*You can substitute with chicken breast. I am a dark meat girl.
**Optional. Yes, I cook with MSG. I was brewed and raised with the umami-ness of MSG.

Leave a Reply

